Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. Is this a negative or positive development?

In contemporary days, a numerous number of parents believe that succeeding in the scholastic field or mastering aptitude for a particular field such as sport, art, etc. is the easiest way to be successful in hereafter society. Therefore, they tend to put the squeeze on their children to be fruitful. This may bring a great deal of pessimistic as well as propitious impacts on children’s maturation.

There are several reasons why parents usually insist on their offspring’s accomplishments. Modern parents usually put pressure on children from the primary level, this also has some practical effects. This builds an excellent habit for children from the beginning to be assiduous in studying and many parts of life. Besides that, putting children under pressure also helps them reform their timetables and manage their time properly. For those who are “lazy” in studying, putting pressure on them is a necessity. In fact, when being under pressure, they work faster and more efficiently.

On the contrary, putting the screw on teenagers may bring counterproductivity. Consequently, most students always have concerns over their studying results. They are obsessed with it gradually and this leads them to worse results . Moreover, enforcing children too much may induce some psychological illnesses such as stress or even falling into depression. A recent study has just unrevealed that most of suicide cases in the age of 16-18 derive from parents’ impositions. Undergoing pressure, offspring try their best to do well, so that they don’t have time for friends, outdoor activities, relaxation, etc. That’s why using strong-arm tactics on children sometimes causes adverse impacts.

In conclusion, apart from parents’ thoughts that placing burden on children is completely a superb way of education, this brings both cons and pros. I personally think that parents should sympathise with their children and strike a balance between their expectations and their children’s abilities.