Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Spending money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) is frequently chosen by older people rather than saving money for their younger generations after work-leave. I will deliberate how this view contributes greater disadvantages which will be explained in the forthcoming paragraph.

On the one side, perhaps, the demerit of budgeting retirement fund on themselves is that monthly billing of fresh graduates fail to be fulfilled since they are financially independent yet. Instead of the support children should draw to achieve future career, they obviously acquire parent’s help to avoid them from social insecurity. Moreover, youngsters who lack support from their parents tendentiously face failure syndrome. Besides hard times they have been through, dealing with financial issues forces them to struggle for better life. For instance, without pension fund directed to their children, this frequently inflicts depressed even worse rejection sensitive dysphoria.

On the flip side, we should highlight some merits of this issue that older people have earned the right of long-term working which should be spent for pleasure activities. Apart from raising self-respect, they should gain the best quality of life (health and consumption). Proved by the journal of the British Geriatrics Society, focusing on a joyful life promotes positive effects in older adults. Moreover, being prone to long-term health cost, they may financially be protected from serious diseases such as diabetes and cardiovascular. Therefore, their life expectancy will be improved without worrying about financial hardship to pay the hospital bills and thus achieving close-knit family.

In brief, despite the potential advantages this issue may prompt, I would contradict that spending retirement fund on oneself induces children’s financial problem and afflicts poor mental health.