In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

At present, thanks to the evolution of technology, more people prefer working from home to going to their office. In this essay I will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

The first advantage of this development is that people can find a free environment and feel comfortable while working at their home. Furthermore, they can save money from travelling and avoid getting stuck in traffic jams. Also they can reduce vehicles and many kinds of pollution. I suppose that working from home gives us a work-life balance. When you do teleworking, you probably have more time for your family and your hobbies to reduce pressure. Moreover, teleworkers may have more opportunities to work for many companies at the same time to earn money and get more experience.

On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of working at home. An additional minus point of this trend is the isolation, working in a domestic area day by day makes people unable to integrate with the society and they may lose communication skills. Another negative aspect of telework is that people may lack sufficient discipline to submit their task in time. One minus point of this trend is that there is a lack of office equipment. Teleworking is a great idea but printers, fax machines or photocopiers are not available. And spending on these things is costly. That is not convenient for everyone.

In conclusion, working at home could bring both good sides and bad sides. In my opinion, I think it is better for us to work with our coworkers in a good office.