In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the Internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it is true that the advancement of technological devices has enabled the community to work remotely, which feasibly triggers a gradual infrequency in people's physical commute. This application of professional arrangement can incite both benefits and drawbacks. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides of the issue and give my opinion.

On the one hand, distance employment results in some inevitable detriments. Firstly, working from home might lead to employees' distractions. Without colleagues' and managers' supervision as well as observation most people claim that they do not suffer from psychological pressure during their business time. Secondly, working outside the office may degrade one's socialisation. It could be explained by the fact that a home-based environment possibly restricts social interactions including conversational or diplomatic establishment.

On the other hand, apart from those aforementioned downsides, there are some considerably positive aspects that are worth considering. Firstly, homeworking could help avoid excessive time consumption. For example, travelling to work would require people a significant amount of time; therefore, not having to spend time commuting each day would help with a reduction in time expenditure. Secondly, distance employment facilitates handicapped labourers' participation in the labour market. An explanation given for this is that miscellaneous occupational platforms condition an ample amount of opportunities for disabled workers who encounter mobility-related struggles to access their job market more easily.

To sum up, homeworking can generate both advantageous and disadvantageous dimensions; however, I personally believe that the benefits of this implementation dominate its drawbacks.