People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is common in today’s society that the consumption of drink that is incredibly high in sugar is raising rapidly. While this trend can be explained by various causes, both the individual and the government could take steps to improve the situation.

Heavy marketing is believed to be the principal reason why more sugar-based drinks are consumed in these recent years. The soft-drink manufacturers promote their products at a target audience of young children and adolescents by attractive advertising campaigns and eye-catching adverts. These strategies encourage young people to form a habit of buying this drink since the youth are soon swayed by advertisements and got addicted to the high sugar content. This phenomenon may carry health risks, including life-threatening health problems such as diabetes, heart disease or certain type of cancer.

There are various steps that both parents and government could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, it is necessary to d reduce the intake of sweetened drinks at school, home, bus stations. Besides, youngsters should be taught about the importance of having a healthy lifestyle by having a balanced diet and taking up exercises. Secondly, to deal with the advertising, governments should introduce restriction or impose a ban on marketing which aim mainly at the youth, along with raising taxes on the sales of sugar-based products.

In conclusion, although the commercial advertising is the main cause for this phenomenon, a range of measures could be implemented to tackle this problem