People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

Over many decades, environmental matters have always been a controversial topic for governments around the world. A good few people believe by uplifting the fossil fuel costs, the number of journeys made by cars and other vehicles can be reduced effectively. I totally agree with this opinion and I hereby suggest some other feasible ways to improve the quality of the environment.

To begin with, raising the cost of fuel can lower the level of air pollution. High petrol expenses will dissuade people from driving their own cars excessively; instead, they may switch to walking or using public transportation to commute to work. This will leave a tremendous help on reducing car emissions and exhausted fumes, which are the greatest contributors of air pollution and environmental issues. For example, in 2018, when New Zealand government applied the policy of increasing the petrol price, people started using public transportation more. As a result, air pollution level fell by 40%.

In addition to the above-mentioned solution to soaring fuel prices, some other potential measures can be added up to tackle environmental issues. Firstly, the government can introduce some transport policies to control the upcoming number of drivers. For example, recently, Vietnam has imposed some new regulations to driving test, making it considerably more challenging to pass. Secondly, national authorities can impose heavier tax on vehicles running on petrol while reduce tax on environmentally friendly transports like electric motorbikes, bicycles, and scooters. As for the capital of Netherlands, Amsterdam is considered one of the most famous destinations for its cycling culture.

In conclusion, I consider increasing the fuel price is one effective method to mitigate environmental issues. Besides, raising the tax on petrol cars as well as controlling the number of drivers is also worth considering.