The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obese children in advanced world have risen by almost twenty percent in the last decade. It is increasingly perceived as a threat to society and considered as a trigger for different problems. The objective of this essay is to evaluate the forces behind this trend and its consequences.

Firstly, diet and lifestyle are supposed to be the two most major catalysts of obesity. In one hand, many advertisements encourage children to consume unhealthy fast food that includes fats, salt and sugar contents. In the other hand, lots of children live sedentary lifestyle; child prefers to stay at home to play computer games instead of outdoor activities.

Overweight children are more likely to have high blood pressure and high cholesterol, which are risk factors for cardiovascular disease. In addition, increased risk of insulin resistance, diabetes and breathing problems, such as asthma and sleep apnea. Regarding future of obese children, they are more likely to become adults with obesity and possibility of cancer. Moreover, in school, an obese student affected by colleagues’ bullying, then that results in psychological problems such as stress and depression. Therefore, this result in low productivity in the school curriculum. Furthermore, they are less likely to be selected for school sports which leads to more obesity and less fitness.

To conclude, it can be difficult to make healthy food choices and get enough physical activity in environments that do not support the affordability of healthy food options such as restaurants and homes. Also places provide opportunities for physical activity such as childcare centers and schools.