Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern day and age, thanks to the development of technology and the internet, it is no longer an obligation for people to work in offices, the same for study. Personally, I believe that this trend has an overall positive impact because it allows people to study and work more efficiently and they no longer need to be at a certain location to participate in the activity.

The irreplaceable role of technology is coming in broad daylight, especially during the pandemic, where social connections and direct meetings are strictly retained to reduce the spread of the virus. With the help of technology and online meeting apps such as Zoom or Microsoft Teams, office workers and students all over the world were able to continue their jobs. Another thing is that the internet offers a variety of information sources coming from e-libraries and programs provided by well-known universities and academic institutions. Therefore, studying and working from home is obviously possible and economical for both children and adults.

On the other hand, many argues that people are relying too much on technology, which will leave un-forecastable aftermaths later on. However, the advantages that technology have brought us may outweigh the disadvantages. For example, some think that online studying is not a lasting resolution since children need constant care, or else they will not focus on studying. Nevertheless, people who could not afford traditional tuition would consider e-learning as a good way to provide their children affordable and reliable education.

In conclusion, I think that technology is one of the most important invention of humankind. Not only serving as an entertaining tool, but technology is also helping us so much in our everyday lives.