Prevention is better than cure

Out of country’s budget a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement

Prevention is better than cure and an age old term with a deep meaning.There is a notion that a greater ratio of the health budget should be allocated to health education and preventive measures rather than spending it on the treatment.In my opinion such a initiative will have numerous positive developments in the society.

Education about any genral topic give the person a genral idea idea of the issue and its negative factors.Health education can also be used as a tool to educate the genral population with information regarding various health issues.Hence leading a better understanding of the diseases that they might have to confront in the future.For example a survey was conducted by a renowned medical institute,which showed that 1700 cases of degue were reported in the year of 2012 during the dengue epidemic.However after people were educated about various aspects of the disease prevention and cure there was a staggering 25 percent drop in the cases reported in the year 2013.

Secondly diseases such as diabetes and heart disease have various modifiable risk factors.Hence these diseases can be controlled if a proper diet and regular excercise is maintained.Goverment can ensure that by building parks and recreation centers which will provide the community with a facility to improve there health standards.For instance a survey was conducted in Louisiana which put 10 people with heart disease and diabetes under observation and followed the diet and excercise of the patients vigorously.Hence subjects with a proper diet and excercise had a higher life expectancy than those who maintained and unbalanced diet.

To conclude allocation of majority of the health budget towards health education and preventive measures will have multi factorial benefits for the society and the governments