"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the phenomenon of prevention from or treatment of diseases and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, although some people believe that a big proportion of health budgets of nations should spend on finding proper treatments, others are of the opinion that spending health budgets on education and preventative measures must be considered as the highest priority. In my mind, concentration on prevention rather than finding cures comes first.

Obviously, miscellaneous diseases such as HIV and some kind of cancers couldn’t be effectively treated nowadays. But, the way of preventing such diseases is straight forward as well as easily reachable. Consequently, if the majority of federal health funds spends on prevention approaches instead of treatments, the populace would be benefited more efficiently.

Undoubtedly, educations play considerable part in today’s modern societies, especially to do with well-being. It is far better to spend colossal amount of nations’ budget on such educations as teaching healthy lifestyle to pupils, even at preschools, pursuing healthy diets, like Mediterranean’s, and sanitation issues. As a result, these educations curriculums pave the way to far less individuals who would suffer such illnesses as diabetes or heart diseases in not distant future. So, unlike the fact that finding remedies could consume far more budget, it makes sense to prevent diseases, albeit scientists couldn’t find appropriate cures for several disorders yet.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of opponents. They elucidate that whereas humanity suffers the lack of proper ways of preventing enormous diseases, for instance, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, and cancers, allocating resources for treatment process of these diseases is inevitable.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea that advantages of spending much money on prevention is far sensible in comparison with finding therapies, particularly more expensive as well as less effective ones. Eventually, like Shakespeare, prevention or cure, that’s the question.