More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, there has been an increasing level of lifestyle in modern society to possess tertiary products from well-known brands. I will consider how this view brings several notable advantages, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

Regarding the merits, we must acknowledge that branded products (Rolls-Royce and Hermes), it stimulates consumptive behaviour which leads to the higher level of demands, production and sales. This means that a stable growth of national GDP driven by affluent people’s amenities substantially achieves a successful nation. Furthermore, this phenomenon forms a higher social status and living standards — purchasing fancy stuff, a series of Apple devices. Seemingly, a great self-esteem can be identified with success rate ranging from luxury collections to valuable assets. Hence, modern folks will be more motivated to perceive positive self-image, not to mention retaining social acceptance.

By contrast, we must elucidate the various demerits of this issue that branding oneself with exclusive items transforms them into a throwaway society characterized by the repeated cycle of purchasing and replacing behaviours, particularly clothings. This discarded stuff, the most durable fabrics, ends up with harming ecosystems, such as landfill and pollutant-related textile production. Moreover, not only does this adversely affect to one’s financial well-being but also mental pressure, fear of missing out (FOMO). Today’s issue, the “Buy Now, Pay Later” (BNPL) feature on mobile apps provides easy payment method, which entice consumers into extravagant spending to carry out high-end lifestyles.

In conclusion, while some may perceive potentially drawbacks to certain respects, I would argue that the benefits of purchasing behaviour of renowned labels can be substantially significant. Those include establishing economic growth as well as elevating individual’s social status.