In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

During recent years there has been a significant change in the family structure and roles played by members of the family. While some people believe that such change has disadvantages. I argue that this change is beneficial.

Firstly, starting with the advantages, with advancement of time there has been a fundamental change in the way families are structured, as people are moving away from home or prefer to stay in a nuclear family rather than joint family. This is majorly because, living in joint family would mean bread winner has to bear the responsibilities of the whole family which is becoming strenuous, as one of the reasons for it is that prices for basic necessities are sky rocketing. Moreover, there is a swap between the roles and responsibilities. Such as women nowadays are working, earning and have a crucial role in. In contrast, to the times when women's opinions were curtailed ad men played a predominant role in decision making. For instance, in the olden days, if the there was a decision to make on whether a girl should get married or pursue studies then it was the father's decision which acted as the deciding factor of the fate of his daughter.

Looking at the drawbacks, one of the obvious amongst them is that the relationships are becoming tenuous. This is with regards to the fact that people are spending less time with their family members especially geriatrics. This could make people sad and lonely in long run. Furthermore, the shift in roles is not helpful in cases when a major decision has to be made and the person making the decision is unbeknownst of the factors that could affect other members of the family.

In conclusion, although there are certain drawbacks of the change in roles and structure of families. I concur that positives outweigh the negatives.