For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teachers are often considered to have greater impacts on the ability in logical thinking and socialisation of school children than their parents do. This essay disagrees with the suggestion completely due to the undeniably huge role of parents in guiding children in the process of learning and growing.

Beyond doubts, parents play a significant part in helping toddlers build social skills and attitudes. In another way of saying, parents contribute mostly in shaping the characters of their children. To clarify, parents are the ones being closest to their babies from the very first stage of their life. In fact, not only do parents carry out all the caring, interacting, educating for their children from the smallest and simplest aspects, but they also accompany their offspring throughout important stages of growing up. Children raised with care and covered with love of their family, as a consequence, are likely to have a positive social development. On the contrary, those suffering from abustion or having a hard childhood face high risk of growing up with mental health issues, or even commiting crimes.

There is a huge similarity in how children form their mindset and intellectual capability, considering parents' role. Specifically, parenting methods directly involve children’s intelligence. Many researches have suggested that the smart kids are often raised by intellectuals. Not mentioning genetic matter, how parents educate a child before their academic progress starts is crucial. For instance, when facing a problem, some children get the answer straight from their parents, while some are oriented to ask questions of What, How and Why. Consequently, the ones who always ask questions will develop strong critical and logical thinking skills. Therefore, they are likely to have better academic performances than those who do not, as they have the ability to see matters from the roots.

It goes without saying, parenting is crucial to the comprehensive development of children. As being the first teachers, the first buddies, the first companions of children, parents are the mirrors and the standards for their offspring to reflect and to follow. Teachers can convey many knowledges and all kinds of skills to their students; however, parents pass more than just textbook matters to their children during their lives and teach their children to master social skills.