Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Speaking a common language is seemed to be the future development of humanity all over the world. Although this may have disadvantages, in my opinion, I believe that it is an overall positive trend.

There are considerable benefits to speaking a dialect. Firstly, this development may remove language barriers among people in the globe to communicate more conveniently. For example, people could travel around the world and explore new destinations freely without using dictionaries or helps of translators anymore. Secondly, people could easily research and acquire knowledge when everything would be written and published in a same language. For instance, university students could look for and read books of authors in the whole world and only focus on books’ contents other than making attempt to understand their languages. Finally, speaking a common language may open a door to more international jobs for workers. Indeed, employees could seek jobs in different countries without concern about spending time and money learning new languages, which may be unaffordable.

On the other hand, using a universal language will have potential disadvantages. One reason for this view is that language is a part of national cultural identity, so that if humans only use one language, it would spoil the diversity of languages. Ancient stories and historical documents would be lost because no one would be able to read or understand them and people may feel a sense of loss. Besides, language is a mean material of music which plays a vital role in human life. Therefore, it would be boring to listen to a Vietnamese song which is similar to Korean song.

In conclusion, although a universal language may have some notable drawbacks, I firmly hold the view that the merits are more significant.