Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the thriving and prospect of society, humans today possess more and more rights and benefits. It is apparent that society is formed based on the adjustment of rules and laws. Yet there are some valid arguments opposing that society could not function if people were free to do as they please. From my personal standpoint, I partly agree with this idea, and this essay will shed light on this issue.

On the one hand, the government introduces laws to the public with the purpose of guaranteeing the safety and security of society, whilst residents obey the regulations regarded as taken for granted. Without being imposed laws, society will get disorder in every aspect, leading to crises related to unbalance economy or severe inflation. The fact is there are more and more criminals, and even worse this rate is witnessing an upward trend with alarming speed. To give an example, if there were no rules or no police enforce laws to adjust human behaviors, thus there would be a certain number of people who would take advantage of this situation to do harm to innocent people in case of robbing their valuable assets. Therefore, many people believe that laws and regulations should exist in order to set boundaries so that people will behave in a moral way in harmony with society's standards.

Having said that, I do believe that in some cases, the amount of rules and laws that the community is subjected to follow in almost modern societies brings more harm than good. Most rules and laws these days may just benefit a minority of people, while the majority are still being affected by the very rules and laws that protect them. For example, in many countries, owning a gun is deemed an illegal behavior. However, in the event of a thief breaking into a house and posing a serious threat by using a dangerous weapon. For that reason, they do not defend themselves effectively. Furthermore, many regulations and laws these days favor the rich and oppose the poor. That is why in some nations, the gap between the rich and the poor is getting bigger and bigger.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there only needs to be one universal law: do no harm to others. The innate goodwill and intelligence of human beings will definitely create a bright society as well as a peaceful place for the whole community.