Some believe that charitable organizations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, a plethora of non-profit NGOs have developed to provide assistance to those in need. Whether this support should be limited to a country's borders or should be provided worldwide regardless of any nationality is open for dispute. This essay will outline both of these opinions followed by my point of view.

On the one hand, if charitable organizations offer help at an international level, local people who are in need and suffering might get ignored. This is because, the focus area for such organizations would be of a wide range. So, more attention would be gathered by large calamities. Thus, charities aiding domestic people within their own country would be more beneficial for alleviating sufferings of local population. Take CUPA, for example, which is an NGO in India that provides shelter to stray dogs in different cities of the country. This service could be difficult if attempted to provide at an international level. Moreover, the transportation as well as import/export expenses to help foreign countries could be costlier for small charities.

On the other hand, during unfortunate times of natural or man-made disasters such as, floods, droughts, earthquakes, and chemical explosions in factories, the collaboration of international charitable organizations is required to assist people who suffer. To exemplify, Khalsa Aid, a non-profitable organization in India, have been aiding different countries in difficult times by providing food, shelter and money. It is incontrovertible that restricting the support provided by charities to a nation's borders could be precarious in such cases. Therefore, some NGOs must extend their contribution towards other countries as well.

Having seen both the views, from my perspective, it can be concluded that although domestic assistance is required to be provided by small NGOs, some charities should also lend a helping hand to needy people regardless of their country or location.