Some believe that studying literature is important for individual character building while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both.

In today’s competitive world, Education is necessary for every man kind. There are multiple fields in which one can pursue education according to their interest. Some pupils think that one of the field of study that is Literature can give good impact on building ones character and remaining think that it is waste of time. I am discussing both views here considering different aspects.

Firstly, Literature is the field which teaches you the way of living. It may be in the form of poem, short note, story or may be in a form of novel which teaches you very small but meaningful aspects of this world. In a jail of north America, government conduct weekly classes of literature subject. Their historic data suggests that among the criminals who studied literature well, have not committed any crime again.

Secondly, people do not have enough time to read or to study literature as their main subject. They choose to study the subjects which they think will help them to achieve their goals. Their focus areas are different and they think that literature is the waste of the time as it does not teach you how to solve daily life problems but only give imaginary lessons. In one survey report published by American Literacy Institute, 60% people voted for NO in the question that, would you like to study literature.

To conclude, it is individual’s choice to study literature or any other subject but definitely studying literature would give vast impact on individual’s characteristics and behavior.