Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the development of advanced technology, people have had a higher standard of living but these days, youngsters tend to spend a lot of time using electronic devices, especially smartphones. Several reasons explain this tendency, and I believe that it triggers many adverse effects on their well-being and study.

There are various reasons why it takes children hours to use smartphones. It relates to the development of high technology, which helps children with studying and entertainment. Firstly, smartphones can help children study, for instance, they can search for information and documents, take notes directly on applications such as words, and google docs and they also can learn online through devices. As a result, children do not spend too much money buying notebooks, references, and reaching extra classes. Therefore, they consume various time on mobile phones. Moreover, the smartphone contains many entertaining programs which is a way of relaxing and relieving stress after a hard-working day. The time using smartphones escalates unstoppably without control.

I opine that the excessive use of smartphones exerts many detrimental influences on the young. Kids may suffer from the risk of heart disease and high obesity which are created by a sedentary lifestyle and lack of physical and mental activities when they spend much time in front of the smartphone's screen. In addition, children are easily influenced by toxic activity and brainwashed by misconceptions when using smartphones, especially accessing social media. The time using smartphones escalates unstoppably without parental control.

In conclusion, many factors, including a new emphasis on online learning, the dominance of online interactions, and the lack of parental surveillance, increase the time youngsters use smartphones. I view the trend as deleterious to physical health and study at school for children.