Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about the habit of using smartphones for hours every day among children. From my perspective, I suppose that this issue might have negative consequences. In this essay, I will analyze the reason for this and explain my opinion.

With regard to this habit, there are several fundamental factors leading to it. The chief element can be a lack of parental management. In particular, a large number of parents still let their kids play on smartphones uncontrollably. This deed partly comes from the overindulgence of parents but also from their inadequate knowledge about this issue. Besides, the uncomplicated approachability of online content can also be one of the reasons for this. These days, a lot of online platforms simplify the login process to optimize accessibility for users. This also means that children are able to discover and enroll in these apps, causing addictions subsequently.

In my view, this habit has to be terminated due to its detrimental effects. Firstly, an apparent consequence is its harmfulness to children’s health. Specifically, the screen of smartphones emits a large amount of blue light into our eyes. In the long term, it will lead to visual diseases such as myopia or astigmatism. Secondly, smartphone addiction can keep children from contacting family members. This will cause division in the family as well as poor communication skills among the children.

In conclusion, the habit of overusing smartphones among children comes primarily from poor parental management and uncomplicated platform accessibility. On account of their potential illnesses and the loss of connection with their families, I strongly oppose this habit and am hoping that there will be a solution to this issue.