Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative

development

Currently, we live in an information technology age, so the phone has become an indispensable item for every person. There is an opinion that children nowadays often spend a lot of time on their phones to meet their learning and entertainment needs.

One of the reasons why kids focus on phones is because they like the conveniences that phones bring. There are many social networking applications and entertainment applications such as Facebook, and Tiktok that attract, catch the eyes, and make children attracted to those applications.

Another reason is the lack of family guidance and supervision. Their parents are so busy and so focused on their work that they often don't have the time to instruct and set limits and times for children to be able to use the phone.

I believe that young children spending too many hours on the phone is a negative development. First, too long exposure to the phone screen will cause eye diseases, fatigue, and nerve damage. Moreover, spending too much time on the phone makes children less exposed to the outside environment, which will cause limitations in life skills and communication skills.

In conclusion, entertaining social networking apps are the main reason why children spend a lot of time on their phones. This is a bad trend that needs to be tackled by families, and children need to be given extra-curricular activities to cut down on phone time.