Some companies sponsor sports to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, many enterprises tend to financially support sport as a promotional material. While it is argued that this tendency may have some drawbacks, I believe that sports world can significantly benefit from it.

It is true that support from companies that hope to promote their products can do harm to the public. It is because when companies with unhealthy products fund a sports activity and require the famous sportsmen to join in the marketing campaign of these items, the audience tend to use them on a regular basis which can be detrimental to their health. For example, when fast food company sponsor a football club, there is possibly commercials in which the footballers seem to support and eat fast food everyday while in fact, they do not. As a result of these players’ influence via the adverts, people are likely to purchase fast food and eat them which does great harm to their well-being.

However, I believe that the benefits that sponsorship from organisations brings to the world of sport can outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, this budget can contribute to the replacement and upgrade of sports facilities. For example, the grounds used for football practice would be equipped with better devices and equipments to ensure the security of the players and the quality of practising. Moreover, with the sponsorship from companies,sports talents of the nation can be found and properly fostered. This is because these fundings help organize sports competitions on a regular basis, of which valuable and appealing prizes may attract more participants to take part in. As a result, the best players can be chosen for the national teams in order to compete with other countries in a worldwide championship.

To conclude, although it cannot be denied that commercials of unhealthy products from sponsors can be harmful to the audience, I believe that the world of sport, especially sports players and the national sports teams can be considerably beneficial from these companies’s support.