Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many countries around the world, especially some developing countries, who want to turn their countries into a top sporting nation prioritized investing in specialized facilities for high-level athletes over those that cater to the general public. Although having all of the necessary facilities available for everyone to utilize is crucial, I believe that having specialized facilities for elite athletes is still a good development.

On the one hand, providing sport and exercise facilities for general public use allows people to enjoy the benefits of playing sport which bring long term benefits to a country. When given suitable and quality facilities and equipment, citizens are able to improve their health by doing exercise in the right ways. It also help to improving the overall health condition of the public population, a government will be able to spend less budget on healthcare while also increasing people's levels of happiness.

On the other hand, the investment to building more specialized facilities for training talented people can help to maximize their potential. This is because top-level athletes have a lot of potential to develop themselves further towards world class level. After that, they can optimize their performance in global competitions and are more likely to achieve rewards and success in sports, making great contributions to national achievements in this field. The most real example is Kenya, one of the poorest countries in the world but also one of the countries with the most athletics Olympic medals and they employed the athlete's popularity and success to gradually boost the nation's economy.

In conclusion, even while public sporting facilities are very vital, specialized training facilities are far more crucial for nations that want to create top-level athletes, who can bring honors and glory for the country.