In Some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the living alone has become prevalent among people especially who are living in metropolitan areas and this rate is far higher in developed countries. I believe this trend has more negative consequences than the few positive outcomes it offers.

To begin with, it is argued that living lonely has a lot of benefits for people and their society. In terms of personality, the initial reason why single occupants tend to live alone is that they can become a more independent person in their life. To illustrate, children who have to leave their parents to continue their studies in foreign countries, people are more independent than their peers because they have to do several things at the same time without getting help from their relatives. Moreover, single people are likely to attend more public social affairs. In fact, this type of people has a lot of time to participate in social activities and become a volunteer to help people who are living in deprived areas.

From another angle, the trend of increasing single-person family has many drawbacks. Firstly, the growing willingness to live alone has a direct relationship with the percentage of people suffers from psychological problems such as isolation and depression. The statistics show that the number of depressed people has increased all over these days, unlike the traditional family where there is always a warm atmosphere to share someone’s distress. Secondly, people in order to overcome their isolation choose a negative lifestyle. Accosting to a study, alone individuals often prefer to consume drugs. Therefore, not only could not they reduce their mental disorders, but also they become addicted to drugs gradually.

From what has been discussed, although living alone can improve people’s personality and e positive impact on their society, in my opinion, this trend will increase mental disease and they become addicted to harmful materials to reduce their problems.