In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

A plethora of individuals in several countries advocates the significance of possessing accommodation of their own instead of being a tenant. The driving factor behind this tendency is our search for a sense of belonging. And I do think that this situation varies from person to person.

At first, being in possession of a home of their own is the ultimate dream of many people in almost every country. At the same time, a house is a place that makes us feel safe and it is also a great asset. For example, in my country, middle class or working class people toil for their entire life just to save up enough money to buy an abode for themselves since it will provide them with a sense of security. Along with that, they also view this as a potential investment for their future. Hence, in my opinion, individuals who do so have these as reasons behind their decision and I do not think there is anything wrong with it.

On the other hand, there are quite a lot of number of citizens prefer renting an apartment or a house rather than purchasing one simply because it is an extremely expensive investment. Furthermore, it is really inconvenient for moving to other places. To illustrate, in our country a government service holder has to transfer to many cities because of his job and it is not possible to own accommodation in every town he is transferred to. Consequently, the most viable option for him is to become a tenant. Therefore, for several people it is better to rent than owning a home.

To conclude, I would say that, whether someone buys or rents a house it depends on the motivation behind him and this purpose is different for every individual.