In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Having an own property is more crucial than renting a house in a different culture. If asked to speak my mind on this discussion, one of the reasons is the traditional concept and it brings some drawbacks to our society.

It’s undeniable that judging a person by his assets is the best way to classify the identities. This conventional idea has passed on our generations and become a stereotype. Take a relevant case as an example, several hundred years ago, a successful businessman who owns massive properties and wealth has had better ability to take care of his family; on the other hand, a person who lives in a rental house has indicated his lower identity. Therefore, before building a close relationship with unfamiliar friends, investigating their backgrounds such as economic status usually happened during the conversations.

Turning into the effects, buying a private house is a stressful decision for some groups. For people who don’t have adequate budgets to purchase real estate, they have to sacrifice entertaining expenses such as watching movies, traveling abroad, and singing karaoke to subsidize saving. For instance, many businessmen deny having a short-term trip to other cities in their spare time if the cost beyond their expectations because of the goal of owning a house. Moreover, some of them have intentions to loan a bunch of money from banks and the interest turns into another pressure eventually.

To sum up, according to the above statements, owning a private construction symbolize your social status; however, it brings a lot of unnecessary burdens if you don’t have enough finance.