Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There has always been a controversy as regards whether or not a police officer brings weapons leading to an increasing of social violence. While people are in favor of this statement, I partly agree with this idea for the following reasons.

On the one hand, it would be beneficial for policemen to carry guns. First of all, it is necessary for them to deter mass demonstration and social anarchy. For instance, in some countries such as Cambodia, Pakistan, police officers are armed guns to put down demonstration. Secondly, guns are effective deterrent to against criminal behaviors and make a feeling of safeness for citizens. In Vietnam, government enacts a law for policemen bring and fire in some dangerous situations that pose a serious threat to their lives. Therefore, people may feel safe when they see armed police, especially in some heightened risks.

On the other hand, it would have negative impacts on social violence if policemen are armed with guns. The first reason worth mentioning is that it would be likely to lead a misunderstanding of citizens in terms of using guns freely, sometimes; it would be in danger of people’s lives. In American, for instance, Stephen Craig Paddock who fired into a crowd of 22,000 concert attendants in music festival on Las Vegas strip. Secondly, in some special situations, police officers shot innocent people. A striking illustration is that police in California shot a man called Sacramento with 20 rounds because they thought he held a gun, but actually it was a cellphone. Unquestionably, armed polices are able to spark civil unrest and a wave of protests from citizens against policemen.

In conclusion, while I agree that policemen should be armed with guns, I also believe that it will create some violence in society for the aforementioned reasons.