Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Opinions are divided on whether information in science, business and the academic world should be shared to the fullest extent, or if the protection of vital data is still needed. This essay aims to shed light on both perspectives and show my support for the latter.

Sharing information as much as possible is argued to beneficial. The salient argument here is that this approach will enhance collaboration, which engenders various types of development. For example, if customer data collected by Google are shared with other companies, the companies can improve their products and services. Likewise, while scientists utilizing updates results from their contemporaries’ work can timely adjust their procedures, design new projects or at least, avoid unnecessary repetitions, academic institutions can elevate their training quality using shared resources, which lead to more qualified graduates. However, this approach seems to require cooperation on a large scale, of which likelihood is rather low since humans tend to be competitive and strive to protect their advantages.

On the other hand, I contend that restricting access to vital information is more justifiable for several reasons. Forefront among which is the fact that all individuals and organizations have the right to fully benefit from the result of their hard work. It would be unfair, for instance, to force companies to exchange their findings, which might take years to produce, with their rivals if adequate returns were not guaranteed. In fact, most organizations employ various measures to protect crucial data, such as customer database, cutting-edge business strategies and unique organizational protocols, to ensure their survival and growth. If such secrets were obtained by their competitors, organizations could lose their business advantages, which could jeopardize their operation.

To conclude, I agree that information of great importance and value should be protected. There are indeed merits to the idea of sharing information; however, this practice is unlikely feasible and may do more harm than good.