Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future societies, while others argue that robots might have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that people have different views about the influences and necessity of robots on human societies. While, in some way, it may seem reasonable to find some certain drawbacks, I personally believe that robots play an important role in people’s daily tasks or industrial production activities.

There are various effects why these automatic machines could be considered to be beneficial to people's life. First of all, robots used in the majority of main industries could not only do manual jobs quickly such as assembling the components of a product and packing many products but also achieve the highest accuracy. Moreover, If the robots take part in the production process more directly, they could be ready to operate every time during working hours. For example, supervisors of a factory only turn on the buttons to start the production process, which creates less need for manpower, leading to lower cost of running the company or less labor cost. More importantly, the use of these miracle machines could make much extra time for humans to spend doing what they want. For instance, people only launch a vacuum cleaner, and then it is doing its task while they are reading, chatting to friends or even traveling.

On the other hand, although robots have brought numerous benefits, there are certain adverse drawbacks. Interestingly, humans, who prefer using robots to doing manual, would become more dependent on these automatic machines, and gradually they will lose soft skills like cooking, human communication… Furthermore, when machines can replace workers to perform the work, the ratio of unemployed people will rise. In fact, many people worry that employees performing the tasks of unimportant jobs, such as supplying services at the checkout counter in supermarkets, or workers working in factories that require more accuracy are laid off at an alarming rate in the future when the use of the robots becomes more and more prevalent. Additionally, the high unemployment rate could be one of the main reasons for bigger social problems such as poverty or crime. To illustrate, in African countries where the social gap becomes too large, and the crime rate is so high, taxes are reduced, leading to lower social welfares.

In conclusion, although there are beneficial effects and adverse drawbacks to the use of robots, it seems to me that our life would be much better with the existence of these miracle machines in daily life.