Some people believe that for school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than parents. Others argue that parents are not less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is believed that teachers have the greatest impact on students’ intellectual and social development, opponents of this argue that parents are of equal importance in educating their children. Despite some rationales behind both ways of thinking, I strongly advocate that both groups of people can make considerable contributions to a child’s general development.

On the one hand, there are justifications for the notion that teachers are the most influential figure in a school child’s development. First and foremost, lectures are considered to be the deliverer of lessons, enriching students’ knowledge on a variety of subjects at school. As a result, students tend to look up to them and follow their example as standard behaviors. Additionally, once children have started schooling, most of their time are allocated to being near friends and teachers. In such an academic environment, they are more likely to be significantly affected by school staff. Therefore, it is suggested that students are more influenced by teachers’ manners.

On the other hand, parents are also believed to play a pivotal role in their children’s learning process. This can be attributed to the fact that parents are the ones who offered them their first life lessons, which means that, even though children have been to school, they will always rely on their parents for advice on certain troublesome situations encountered at some points of their life. Moreover, generally speaking, parents are often closest people in the children’s minds. Therefore, students have a tendency to share their problems, which may include academic shortcomings, with parents, giving them the chance to understand their children more and have appropriate approach to children’s education. Fore the aforementioned reasons, parents can have equally tremendous effects on kids’ intelligence and social development.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the compelling arguments behind both views, I believe that children can benefit from a combination of formal education and home schooling.