Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Penal system of every country has predetermined punishments for criminal offences. But few people are of the opinion that punishments should be meted out, not only considering the type of crime, but also the motive behind it.

While those in favour of delivering sentences based on crime believe, that any crime is an act of doing things out of moral and ethical boundaries, and that such offences when handled with strict punishments can serve as deterrent for further crimes by both, the criminals and other members of society. Secondly, any motivation, even if it is of petty nature, suggests that the criminal has lower moral judgement and if this is ignored, it can further serve as a motivation to commit even more serious crimes in future. Therefore, it is better to nip this problem through set punishment.

However, it cannot be denied that sometimes crimes are caused because of failure of moral support systems. This is seen for e.g., in cases of, physical abuse, where sometimes victims are forced to commit crime in a bid to escape the violence. This extreme step is result of not having sufficient support from law and regulatory authorities. In such a scenario, a harsh punishment to the abuse victim for his or her crime is unjustified as the motive to commit crime is self- defense rather than to act out of law.

In conclusion, I believe, that it is essential to consider the circumstances and motivation behind the crime, as this will ensure that the punishments are justified.