Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on who has the responsibility to constrain the packaging used. While some argue that manufacturers and supermarkets should limit the number of them, I firmly believe that customers play a more significant role in tackling this problem.

On the one hand, there are various measures that manufacturers and supermarkets could adopt to alleviate the abuse of plastic packaging. Firstly, manufacturers, who distribute their products to groceries and retail chains, may reduce the amount of their goods’ covering by packaging in a large box or using alternative materials that are friendly to the environment. Furthermore, supermarkets also engage in some environmental campaigns, such as hanging attractive banners related to the drawbacks of plastic and replacing one-time plastic wrappers with sustainable and fashionable packaging that their customers are able to use several times.

Beside the previously mentioned ideas, raising customers’ awareness is more important for the sustainable success of this campaign. First and foremost, the decisions of custormers to deny buying some products with a lot of packaging remarkably impact manufactories’ profits, leading to their toleration suited to custormers’ demands. Additionally, environmentally friendly materials are likely more expensive than plastic ones, leading to higher prices for such products. Therefore, if customers are willing to pay the extra amount, manufacturers will take considerable care in choosing packaging materials.

In conclusion, it is true that several measures can be proposed by manufacturers and supermarkets, I maintain that by appropriate regulations of customers decisions, this phenomenon can be ameliorated to a certain extent.