Some People Say That The Best Way To Improve Public Health Is By Increasing The Number Of Sports Facilities

Amidst unhealthy lifestyle of today's generation, a question is always put forward for the debate: how can a government allay unhealthy living of their citizens? Some people suggest that sports facilites are the best way to assist people to be healthy; however, others, giving various logical reasons, contend that sports facilities will prove to be superfluous and other options should be implemented. I, personally, believe that both sides of view must be carefully analysed and all the options must be taken into account while formulation of the plan.

People, who believe that proliferation of sports facilities such as increase in sports stadiums does not have significant improvement in public health, cite various reasons to justify their arguments. One of the arguments is that people may not join these facilities which may result in wastage of investment by the authority. It could be possible that people might not partake physical activities in these facilities because of various reasons such as busy schedule, lack of information regarding those facilities and laziness. These people, instead, purpose various reforms to alleviate ongoing problems of unhealthy lifestyle: implementation of strict laws regarding processed foods, awareness programmes such as seminars and workshops. These arguments do hold water to some extent.

On the other hand, most of the sports enthusiasts claim that improvement in sports facilites can improve the public health because sports prompt people to move their body thereby improving physical, mental and emotional health. Many research, which focus on effects of physical movement on various aspects of body, are present as evidences that shows not only does body movement during exercises improve cognitive capability of people but it also helps people coping stress in their hectic work life. Moreover, sports and exercises help people to be lean and healthy, and prevent from many unhealthy conditions and diseases which may occur due to overweight body. Given various evidences supporting positive effects of physical activities, claims made by advocates of sports seems to be warranted.

In conclusion, after juxtaposing both sides of view, I believe that, in addition to sports facilities, other reforms-- such as imposition of strict rules, awareness programs-- should be initiated by the incumbent entitiy so that public health is improved.