Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views on which people argue if the extinction of various species is the major environmental issue in the present day. From my perspective, I believe creatures dying out is a secondary problem, which is a consequence of other detrimental nature-related issues.

In the eyes of the public, the loss of biodiversity is indeed a serious problem. When an animal species is wiped out of existence, the food chain is dramatically damaged. For instance, a plethora of carnivores such as whales relies heavily upon some species of prey, smaller fish in this case. If those little ones happen to extinct, the whales shall have no food to survive and consequently shall die out as well. Not only does this scenario apply to animals but also plants as a mass of herbivores need fruits and leaves as their food resource. Moreover, a majority of wild animals demand the woods as their habitat; therefore losing trees in forests shall ultimately lead to one or more species' death.

Nonetheless, looking at the bigger picture, it is conspicuous that extinction occurs because of greater environmental threats such as human-involved impacts. In other words, the activities carried out by mankind are endangering creatures. One of them is the excessive exploitation of woods. Logging and the land invasion of humans have caused animals to lose their ideal and suitable living area. Owing to their lack of adaptation unlike men, they are well-chance of dying out. Another human activity is overfishing, and this particular act allows fish no time to reproduce, thus lead to the degradation in numbers.

Natural catastrophic phenomena are also a part of the bigger picture. Floods, saline invasion, and hurricanes are responsible for destroying the natural habitat of species. Such disasters are the initial cause that triggers the extinction.

In conclusion, I contend that the most vital environmental issue is always bigger than what we actually see. In this situation, it is the more general impacts that result in the death of various natural kinds.