Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this

money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is argued that the money of the government should be better spent on other fields rather than the arts. From my perspective, I oppose this notion as artistic forms can contribute to the whole economy, either directly or indirectly. Thus, I shall convey my arguments to concrete my opinion in this essay.

The first reason why authorities should remain investing in the arts is the direct benefit of it. Plenty of forms of art can instantly gain profit, and an instance of them is cinema. The silver screen industry is capable of attracting a great mass of audience; thus, it can create an enormous amount of money via box offices and selling merchandise. Blockbusters like "Avengers: Endgame" are evidence for this. Another art form that is able to make great monetary value is music. In this digitalized era, listeners tend to purchase songs and albums on popular streaming platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music, and hits can bring about huge profits.

The second reason for spending money on arts is their indirect contribution to the tourism industry. Exhibitions and art museums are among the most attractive destinations in foreign tourists' eyes. Visitors tend to love exploring cultural aspects of the natives through museums and performances. Such attractions should be well invested in terms of maintenance and improvement so that they appeal to more tourists. By doing so, not only does it enrich the macroeconomy but also the cultural heritage.

Those who do not find love for arts may contend that spending money on other fields such as education and medicines is more urgent and more necessary. In their opinion, the arts are not a sine qua non for the socioeconomy. However, it is false to follow that idea since commercialized contemporary arts are proven to be as equally crucial as every other segment of the economy. The arts have been an essential part of the development of humankind throughout history, therefore it demands that they be conservated and enhanced as well as financially utilized.

In conclusion, with the aforementioned arguments, I believe that the authorities should remain interested in the arts and their monetary potential, not downplaying their impacts on society.