Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Saving the environment is always in the news in modern world. Some argue that extinction of certain flora and fauna is an important environmental issue whereas others say that there are more critical environmental problems. This essay will discuss both the views and suggest why working on environment will save the plant and animal species.

Two of the biggest factors affecting the environment currently are global warming and plastic accumulation. Global warming has led to melting of glaciers at the poles, increase in sea water levels and unpredictable weather patterns. Using appliances like air conditioners, refrigerators and many more are contributing to global warming. For example, the chlorofluorocarbons released by these machines are affecting the ozone layer which leads to increase in the temperatures on Earth. Additionally, plastic being used frequently for packaging is harming the environment since it is not bio-degradable. Accumulation of these bags in sea waters is harming aquatic life. Hence, we need to implement solutions for resolving these problems within the environment.

On the other hand, saving plant and animal species from being extinct is one of the biggest problems in current times. Many of these species represent the heritage of various countries and helps in attracting tourists. Extinction of such species will impact the economy of such places. Loss of them is a direct result of other environmental problems. To illustrate, the forest fires in recent times are a response to the rising temperatures across the world. These fires have led to the death of hundreds of animals and trees. Therefore, in my opinion, solving issues within the environment will have a significant effect on loss of flora and fauna.

To conclude, saving the various lives on Earth from disappearing is one of the most important issues in hand but developing remedies for other factors that are destroying this habitat is equally critical.