Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The cycle of life reaches a ends in old age, becoming a geriatric is inevitable. Some people are under the consensus that the modern lifestyle is unhospitable for the elderly, while others feel the opposite, that the elderly faced more problems in the past. From my point of view, I agree with the former, and in this essay, both views shall be discussed and the reasons to support my opinion will be provided.

Advanced technology has paved way for the modern world, the young are able to adapt quickly, however the elderly cannot match their pace. With increasing use of mobile phones, electronic devices and media, the elders are finding it difficult to maneuver in the physical and online world. Grandparents and elderly folks are highly dependent on their children and families to support them, in terms of finance and health. In recent times, many of the old generation feel isolated and alone, since their families spend less time with them due to their busy schedules, and they are often placed in retirement homes. Medical technology has improved tremendously, increasing life expectancy, but it would be futile to live displaced and without enjoying life.

The historic period was filled with the world wars and diseases, and war veterans, elder eminent personalities and older individuals worked hard together, to survive and lead a happy life regardless of the circumstances. War veterans, old eminent personalities often speak of a simpler time, and their experiences positive memories.

In conclusion, the elderly face more issues in times than a better outlook, it is important for families and members of society to take consideration of our elderly and provide them attention.