Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

It is believed that an excellent means to connect individuals of different cultural backgrounds as well as ages together is music. In my opinion, this viewpoint is correct.

Firstly, music combined with social media offers an opportunity for cross-cultural friendship. In the past, people could only befriend who they met. Nowadays, citizens around the globe can meet each other through social media. Thus, individuals of different cultures can join fan groups, where they get to express their support to their idols. In the process, these supporters will chat to other members of the community and form relationships gradually. Nonetheless, although these individuals can still acquaint each other without music but it is much harder to form friendship as they share nothing in common, not to mention differences in culture. Furthermore, with music, the friendship would flourish as fans share their joy and sadness when their idol wins an award or is injured. Therefore, music is beneficial to creating strong relationships among people of different cultures.

Secondly, music can also bond individuals of different ages. Normally, people of different generations are deterred from befriending one another due to different life experiences and interests. For example, the elderly likes to play chess while the youth likes to play video games. As a result, there is no common interest among them, which is important in order for friendship to occur and flourish. However, as music is a recurring theme in every generation, it is an opportunity for people to start a conversation with one another. Gradually, a relationship would naturally happen after people of different ages have conversed many times. Therefore, music connects individuals of different stages of life.

To conclude, music is a catalyst in bonding not only citizens of different cultures and generations.