Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’ responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In response to the environment responsibility, some people argue that the government should be responsible for it, while others keep their mind that it is individual’s duties. This essay discusses some positive sides and potential perils of these views, and asserts my opinions that I am inclined to the second method.

On the one hand, the government plays a pivotal role in maintaining the environment safe and healthy. It is authorities that could impose legislation in order to mitigate environmental problems, such as air pollution and more. To illustrate, there would be some laws encouraging the factories to move to the countryside rather than staying in cities. This would help the urban areas to be further protected from the poisonous fumes, which are always discharged from firms. Another prominent role the government could play would be creating TV programs to educate citizens, and to persuade them to care the nature more. Being informed of the consequences of their activities, individuals may endeavor to alter their ways, to avoid harming the environment.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that each person can play an important role in protecting their own neighborhood. Cars are considered to be a major source of air pollution. Their exhaust gases contaminate the air, ranging from carbon dioxide to un-burnt carbon. Therefore, by using their own vehicles only in rare cases, people would be able to protect the environment. Another opportunity available to individuals is recycling. By stopping plastic waste from entering and contaminating water ways people are able to conserve drinkable water and its inhabitants.

In conclusion, due to the large amount of work involved, mobilising all the possible force is a more sensible approach. It is, therefore, likely to joint efforts of both the governments and citizens would result in the most effective way of preserving the environment.