Question 3: Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The responsibility for the environment has always been a topic of controversy. While some people convince that the authorities should take over this responsibility, others believe it is individuals who should shoulder the responsibility. In this essay, I will elaborate on these two viewpoints and give the reasons why I suppose it is beneficial that the responsibility to protect nature falls on both the government and citizens.

On one hand, the government should play a pivotal role in protecting the environment. Firstly, the authorities can use their power to enact effective and potentially costly environmental policies to help protect the environment directly and solve severe natural problems. For example, the government can pass laws to support local producers who practice sustainable ways of food production; therefore, it can offer the chance for people to use global resources more efficiently and stimulate rural livelihoods. Secondly, the government can use its resources to persuade citizens to care for nature more. For instance, there’s no real way for a person to measure how much are they really help the earth by using air conditioning less or recycling but the government can allocate the state budget to analyze positive environmental efforts so that they can motivate people to continue their actions.

On the other hand, government policies and spending cannot be effective unless there is public support so that each person has to take action to protect our ecosystem. Nowadays, plastic pollution has become one of the most pressing environmental issues, especially in developing Asian and African nations, where garbage collection systems are often inefficient or even nonexistent. For that reason, people should change their lifestyles to reduce their reliance on plastic bags such as switching from plastic bottles to refillable bottles or always bringing their own reusable bags.

In conclusion, I believe that environmental problems will constitute existential threats to human societies unless the responsibility for the protection of the environment is shared by both the government and ordinary people