Some people say we do not need printed paper newspaper anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The proliferation of technology in recent decades has marked its impacts in innumerable aspects of life. One of them is the shift in the way people receive information. Some people suggest that the role of the printed newspaper is no longer needed. I somewhat agree with this view as the production of the conventional newspapers may take its toll on the environment and new technological equipment is a more useful replacement, even though the old-fashioned media channel appears as beneficial in some circumstances.

Given the advent of new technological advancements, the need for the conventional newspaper might not be necessary. There has been a growing trend that people deploy smart devices for attaining news as the online news is stored in portable handheld devices, varies regarding information available, and offers users up-to-the-minute news. By comparison, printed newspapers seem to be difficult to carry, have a restricted amount of data, and be slow in terms of information updating. This gives online newspaper a distinct advantages over its outdated counterpart. The creation of new technological breakthroughs thus places the newspaper on the brink of disappearance.

Another reason for upholding the elimination of the printed newspaper is the repercussions the media platform has on the environment. It is thought that the manufacture of newspapers, which demands trees as the main material, is one of the main culprits of deforestation, the phenomenon that not only deteriorates nature but exacerbates the existing pollution level on the earth. If people read the news on the internet, the human impacts on the environment may be ameliorated. Thus, utilization of the conventional newspaper may act as a catalyst for the deterioration of biodiversity.

Admittedly, there are certain benefits associated with traditional news designs. The primary merit is that newspapers do not contain distractions similar to the digital news. This is deeply rooted in the nature of technical devices, which are created to serve multi-faceted functions for users, which may prompt unwanted disturbances to people. In this case, the newspaper may be superior to modern technical gadgets. People; however, can adjust their settings in order to relieve such spam.

In sum, I mostly side with those who believe that printed newspaper is insignificant in today's world as smart devices and computers offer better experiences and produce less carbon footprint.