Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, tertiary education provides a wide range of discipline including art, literature, science and technology. Stranded in the ocean of knowledge while just graduated from high school, undergraduates are steered to believe by many people that subjects involving science and technology will be an effective mean which can guarantee the future. While others suggest that college students shall be freely choosing which subject to learn.

It is saying that if something is done passionately, the outcome is likely to be impressed. That connotation with the idea that with devotion in certain thing, human can do it better. Let’s take these as an example, a teacher may fail to fulfill his or her obligations if they do not keep the students at the center of education or a doctor may hit the bottom if he or she only focus on the money rather than saving people lives. Furthermore, devoting in a particular subject matter can stimulate the higher opportunity to find a decent, well-paid future job matching the interests. Like Taylor Swift or Justin Bieber, these chosen to follow their interest in singing and have had successful careers. It can be seen that obviously the singers’ choices was not science or technology, still, they have made a great fortune. Therefore, limit university students to learn only subjects regarding science or technology is not necessary.

On the other hand, the line between useful and useless subjects is a blur. Hardly anyone can make a clear definition and example on which subject is useful and which is not. Since the lists of the most affluent people in the world involved many in the science and technology section, like Mark Zuckerberg, Bill Gate or Elon Musk, it is undoubtedly that those two are the important fields in the world general development. Even then, knowledge of the human body, the nature, the culture and the history surround us is also crucial to our live in certain aspect.

To conclude, limitation shall not be impose on subject choosing and student have a right to choose which or what they want to learn.