Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, together with social development, tertiary education is also regarded considerably. Some people are of the opinion that students can make decisions about their favorite subjects at university. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that it’s better for students to be forced to learn some certain key subject areas. From my perspective, both points of view are of great significance in equal measure, but I believe that choosing preferred fields brings more benefits for students.

There are several reasons why many people believe that students should only learn subjects related to science, technology, or medical courses. First of all, they consider that these areas are more likely to be beneficial than others. It is undeniable that these subjects bring a huge amount of practical advantages related to our life. Furthermore, students can get career prospects when learning these useful subjects. Social development today leads to the lack of specialized staff. As a result, students have a lot of opportunities to apply for suitable jobs.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that learning whatever they like at university is more valuable. The first reason is that each subject has various values. We can’t assert that this area is more important than that one. Instead of that, all subjects that students are learned impact divergently to all aspects of our society. For instance, music or arts have no small influences on our spiritual life such as helping us release stress in life or express our love to others. Moreover, students are always excited about their studies when being decided what they learn. Following a passion is one of the best ways to promote quality learning. Thanks to it, students can improve as well as enhance their ability related to their areas.

For the reasons mentioned above, although it might be sensible for all universities to require the students to learn useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.