Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Part of the people consider reading the subject of students’ own will, while the remaining believe compulsory learning of some long-term functional stream like science and technology in the university. This essay examines both the views with illustrations of some useful examples.

On the one hand, individuals assume studying the university subject of their curiosity which is going to be beneficial for them. In other words, if someone graduates in the subject of his interest, he will excel in every corner of that field. Some other subject that has been forced to read by others will not be as fruitful as the subject read by their own. For example, the research conducted by Churchill University in Japan found that 90% of successful people in the Funaki state have got their degree in the study stream that had been chosen by themselves. Moreover, the same study showed 65% of students who had been reading in their university, had poor result compared to 95% of scholars who achieved high grades after reading the subject of their choice. Thus, it is essential to read the course whatever they like.

On the other hand, in this cutting-edge era, the field of science and technology is expanding in rapid pace. To explain it, as the new discoveries had been made, the employment rate is increasing, and people starts arguing science and technology to be an indispensable subject for university. For example, in 2019, the research conducted by Pentagon University showed that, 75% of vacancy for employment in Spain were of technical and science fields. In addition, the study executed by scientists of ‘researchgate.com’ in 2022 reflected that 90% of research papers since 2010 on the website were of technical fields, suggesting there are numerous topics to be excelled by the PhD students if they are from the field of science and technology. Hence, people think this field as compulsory subjects to be taught in the university.

In conclusion, although the field of study and employment in science and technology is rising, I opine in the favor of former thinkers, as studying the subject of one’s will not only makes him proficient in that field but also helps him securing good marks in the subject. Given the above, it is recommended that there will be freedom to choose the subject of interest in the university; however, one subject related to the science and technology must be made compulsory.