Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age, for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As people’s living standards have been improved, these days, each person tend to own a personal vehicle, including teenagers. Some argue that the most effective solution for road collision and traffic congestion is to increase the minimum age for driving license. As far as my opinion is concerned, I totally agree with this opinion and this essay will present my reasons.

To commence with, young people, especially those who are at the age of sixteen to eighteen, are often unable to control their behaviors. This is because they tend to follow the one-in-a-lifetime style and do not consider the consequences before doing something wrong. Drinking alcohol during driving, for example, has been observed in a lot of teenagers in many countries. Such actions could cause accidents, which in the worst case, leads to death.

Furthermore, people at older ages would have more experiences. Therefore, they would be able to handle certain situations on roads more precisely. To take an example, if a little dog suddenly cross the road while a person was not paying attention, those who are young and inexperienced would easily hit the dog or other objects on the road while those with years of experiences would not. As a result, people should only drive cars or ride motorbikes when they are experienced enough.

In conclusion, while people in today’s modern world have the tendency to buy personal transportations for themselves and their family members, I believe that the minimum age for legal driving license should be increased for the aforementioned justifications. Additionally, young citizens should be aware of their own actions and behave responsibly for not only their safety but also that of others.