Some people think that children should aim to be the best at what they are doing while others believe it is not necessary for them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since small, children have been reminded to set their heart in everything they do. However, some people contend that it is pivotal for them to aspire for the first place. From my point of view, although this mindset can offer several benefits, I am of the opinion that children should not always covet for their optimal performance in everything.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that the expectation for the first place can drive children to excel and give them a leg up in their future life. Undoubtedly, if children are aware of their needs to be the best, they are given impetus to work harder and perform better. As a result, they can be a more resilient, perseverent and determined individual who can reap fruitful outcomes from their efforts. Moreover, this mindset can also stand them in good stead in the workplace as children would grow into competent and determined employees through the process of honing their skills for the best.

On the other hand, there are glaring reasons why always being the best is not a judicial goal for children. The first thing to notice is that it would put strains on children as they are hunted by having to put more effort. If that stress prolongs, it will encroach on their daily lives and be detrimental for their mental health. Furthermore, overcompetitiveness can hinder children’s opportunities to make friends and partake in playful activities. Take myself as an example, since I was so obsessed with ranking first in my primary class, I was complacent and selfish, hence other peers ignored and alienated me. Consequently, children like me, who have this insatiable desire for the best, may experience an undelightful childhood of always competing and working.

In conclusion, although children can, to some extent, merit from the aim to be the best, I am convinced that it should not be mandatorily instilled in children's minds as this mindset will afflict their mental health as well as jeopardise their childhood.