Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention. While others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the government should be accountable for crime prevention, while others believe that every person ought to have responsibility to defend against crime. I strongly believe on first one because every time individual cannot protect themselves from offenders and fear of punishment restricts people from committing an offense.

On the one hand, self- defense is one of the most efficient ways to be safe from crime and criminals. By learning certain skills such as Kungfu, Karate and boxing, people can be independent and they can protect themselves as well as their family to be a victim of lethal crime. For example, in Japan, getting black belt in Karate is mandatory for every student because people think their children can fight with unforeseen circumstances by mastering in karate. Thus it is clear that why every individual should take responsibility for preventing criminal activities. However, this method in not preferable all the time as people do not have idea how criminals commit crime.

On the other hand, people think that responsibility for crime prevention solely relies on government because they have right to carry out and implement strong law against illegal activities. Government can prevent citizens by tightening the rules and ensuring police department is proactive because there is a limit in people’s ability to defend criminals. For instance, the reason for 0.2% crime rates in the USA is strict rules and proactive crime departments according to a survey. I think solid laws such as death penalty implemented by government can reduce crime as people stay away from illegal activities due to fear of getting punished.

In conclusion, safeguarded against crime by own can be an effective method to get protection from criminals although liable rules are necessary to scare people so that they do not intend to involve in crime.