Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some individuals, subjects such as mathematics and philosophy should be freely chosen rather than making mandatory because some children acknowledge them as tough subjects. I completely disagree with this statement as basic skills of these subjects are significant to build a strong background and mathematics and philosophy enhance ability to thinking critically.

Firstly, mathematics and philosophy are essential for every individual to make life orderly. There are many subjects the pupils might feel boring or even difficult, but it does not mean they are not important. For example, mathematical knowledge and ability to use them is effective way of tackling quantifiable problem such as shopping, paying bills and others daily activities. In addition, mathematical is associated with many other disciplines such as science, history, geography and economics. Likewise, philosophical premises develop potential to analyze and understand issues and solve then easily.

Secondly, subjects like mathematics and philosophy broaden critical thinking capacity of children, as they consist of abstract problems and pupils need to think logically to solve those problems. Furthermore, learning mathematics is good for our brain, when we solve these problems using different kinds of methods helps us to solve problems in our day to day life. Problem solving method, for instance, which is used step by step to do mathematical problems teaches to cope with challenges in personal life taking each pace after another. Similarly, philosophy improves critical thinking skills of children because it focuses them to think outside of their normal thought process and widens the perspectives towards something. This allows them to generate extra ways to deal with happening circumstances.

In conclusion, although some subjects are difficult to study and understand, children should not outweigh the importance of those subjects so that they could conduct personal and professional life smoothly in a logical way.