Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is believed that money is being squandered on the arts by the administration, instead of spending it on more vital things such as education and sport. I partially agree with this view and believe it is acceptable.

On the one hand, arts play an essential role on development of imagination and cultural knowledge of individuals. In other words, people may get their creativity improved by drawing pictures, moreover, learning and composing poems can also be effective on enhancing people's outlooks. For example, researchs say that a person draws pictures on a regular basis has a tendency to score higher in IQ tests. If the government does not allocate money for the crafts, the number of art museums are likely to decrease. Consequently, this might be the main reason for underestimation of culture.

On the other hand, there are more crucial fields that government should spend money on. For instance, it can be used for improvement of education which may reduce the rate of illiteracy by building an array of schools universities and learning centres. On top of this, for the same amount of investment, more and more sport facilities might be created. As a result, numerous health problems such as obesity and heart diseases, can be solved. Hence, fund could also be invested in other facilities.

To conclude, although education and sport have untold advantages, it would be unfair to invest money which is given to the craft, in other facilities. Thus, both should be placed at the same level of significance in the subject under expenditure