Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view ?

Nowadays governments are focusing on the social sides of arts and the influential

developments of it that can enhance the well-being of the society, so the expenditures on supporting arts would rise as a consequence. Moreover, by considering the abilities of art in representing a nation’s cultures and values, I’m opposed to people who label art as a waste of money.

Looking at psychological components, the more artists in society rivals more kids who regard art as an interesting field for investing their exertion and time. Subsequently, they will adopt a creative and innovative perspective in their life course, meaning that these kids won’t be replaced by a robot in the near future because, although the recent developments in technology have tried to stimulate the arts by using AI, all of them have failed due to the lack of creativity.

Another point that worth to mention is that by supports of governments and helping the artist to subsidize their work, by lending them money or running their exhibitions for free, it is possible for the young to consider art as a lucrative industry that its duty is to express the society's concerns, also breaking the borders in order to redefine what is thought of reasonable in our modern society in which people suffer from stereotypes, climate change, wars, poverty, and etc.

In line with immeasurable benefits that art can bring for a society, like bringing up innovative students and thought leaders who consider art not as a side hustle, but as their future, it's easy to conclude that government spending on art might be actually reasonable in many ways.