Some people think the manufacturers and shopping malls should sell fewer packaged products while others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people feel that products should be sold with fewer packaging, others think that purchasing products with less packaging becomes individuals’ great concern. There are disputes on both arguments which I will explicate in the ensuing paragraph.

To start with, supporters of less packaging products declare that this might reduce a company’s operational cost due to the expensive raw materials and resource conversion process. Since 2015, Apple Inc. has reduced the use of plastics by around 70% to cut off great packaging expenditure and can serve affordable products to the customers. Moreover, following sustainability policies, more and more shopping centres not only reduce multiple-layer packaging but also replace it with eco-friendly paper bags. In Australia, an effective shopping mall’s waste management (single-use plastics and bottle refill stations) plays a crucial role to promote the culture of sustainability to significantly fight against waste and pollution.

Another point worth considering is many people feel that individuals should have awareness to create a better earth for the sake of future generations. Nowadays, many environmental issues greatly deteriorate human living in the long run, including marine debris and piles of trash. To save the world, the 5 R’s principles (refuse and repurpose) should be implemented in human behaviour as their greatest responsibility. In addition, storing reduced packaging items may create healthy space in the living environment, particularly home. Many prestige brands sell their product with layers of packaging such as tote paper bags and foam packagings which require extra space in an individual's house, thus, this would weaken a healthy surrounding, sickening from skin allergies and respiratory.

Overall, we have to emphasize that fewer layers of packaged products consciously chosen by societies would contribute substantial upsides such as creating a better earth and healthy environment.